Sexually Transmitted Diseases


Summit County Public Health’s STD Prevention Program is grant-funded through the Ohio Department of Health to provide services in a 6-county region that includes Summit, Portage, Trumbull, Mahoning, and Columbiana counties.

Services provided through the STD prevention grant include:

  • Availability of routine chlamydia, gonorrhea, and syphilis screening for high-risk patients. Early detection and treatment offered to patients and their partners avoids the increased costs associated with further transmission and morbidity from untreated infections.
  • Medication and treatment for positive diagnoses.
  • Funding for Disease Intervention Specialists (DIS) to interview and provide partner services and medical treatment for patients who are positive for syphilis. This reduces the risk of further transmission and the harmful effects of an untreated syphilis infection.
  • Educational outreach materials and condoms that are distributed throughout the region.